Walthamstow Avenue Colts in the early 80s

Richard Young (who features in the picture) kindly sent in this picture of The Avenue Colts taken around 1982/83.

Top: Mark Salmon, Bobby Eates (Manager), Andy Polston, Ian Levy, Marvin Houston, Richard Green, Lee Woodrow, Micky Munn (Trainer), Dave Birch. Bottom: Andrew Patterson, Dean Bramley, Bradley Wright , Michael Oliver, Richard Young, Glen Batchelor

Top: Mark Salmon, Bobby Eates (Manager), Andy Polston, Ian Levy, Marvin Houston, Richard Green, Lee Woodrow, Micky Munn (Trainer), Dave Birch. Bottom: Andrew Patterson, Dean Bramley, Bradley Wright , Michael Oliver, Richard Young, Glen Batchelor

Andy Polston went on to play for Spurs (see his Wikipedia page). If you know where any of the other players ended up in their football careers, please drop us a line or leave a comment.

6 Responses to “Walthamstow Avenue Colts in the early 80s”

  1. Jenny Treversh Says:

    Saw your picture of Micky Munn as Colts Trainer and remembered him from the days when we worked at Warners Holiday Camp in the Isle of Wight in the 1960s. Does anyone know what happened to him?

  2. Ben Munn Says:

    hi! funnily enough i was trying to find any pictures of my dad online to put in a fathers day card of his and came across your comment. He is retired now and currently lives in Wanstead, East London close to Loughton. Did you know him well?

    • Brenda Says:

      Hello Ben,
      Sorry I did not notice a reply button and I have posted a message instead.
      I do have a lovely photo of your Dad.
      Hopefully you do get in touch for my daughters sake as she has been looking for you for years.
      Brenda

  3. tom Says:

    Ben, i knew your dad from the carpenters arms in loughton,we often chatted but he would only know me from the pub. Give him my regards
    tom quinn

  4. maria lucia Says:

    what happened to the ground

  5. Mark North Says:

    Hi Ben, I met your Dad on holiday about 7-8 years ago in Kos. I was holidaying with my wife before we had kids and spend many a night laughing at his catalogue of jokes. Even though that was the only time I met him, I still remember his name and remember what a big part of our holiday he was.

    He said if I was ever in Wanstead I should look him up (I think he mentioned a tapas place from memory). I live in Gidea Park now and always wish I had taken him up on the offer. I hope he is keeping well?

    Mark & Kelly

Leave a comment