Stanley Anderson (1952-58)

Thanks to Stuart Anderson for sending these photos of his dad Stanley, who spent 6 years at Walthamstow Avenue between 1952-58.

Stanley made 74 first team appearances, notching a very impressive 51 goals. He later joined Finchley FC before rejoining Avenue, but never played again due to injury.

Stanley’s full Avenue record:

52/53 – 3 Apps 3 Goals
53/54 – 13 Apps 10 Goals
54/55 – 16 Apps 10 Goals
55/56 – 14 Apps 10 Goals
56/57- 12 Apps 7 Goals
57/58 – 16 Apps 11 Goals

Stanley Anderson

Stanley Anderson

The Avenue boys talk tactics with Ron Greenwood (Stanley is 2nd right, standing)

The Avenue boys talk tactics with Ron Greenwood (Stanley is 2nd right, standing)

Walthamstow Avenue team photo (Stanley is 4th sitting player from left)

Walthamstow Avenue team photo (Stanley is 4th sitting player from left)

3 Responses to “Stanley Anderson (1952-58)”

  1. Brian Finch Says:

    The team photo here is of the reserve team. I am seated on Stanley’s left ( 5th from the left). I played mostly for the reserve team along with the Grove brothers. I made only one first team appearance ( Bromley away 1952 season). As a 17 year old I was taken to the Man United game and also for the return game at Highbury.

  2. Tom Garnell Says:

    I worked with Stan at Jenson & Nicholson in Straford during the 1950s. He worked in the Engineers Dept and I worked in Purchasing. We spent a lot of time chatting about football. He was a Chelsea Juniors, I remember him showing me his letter from Chelsea. We played together on Sundays for the firm team, Robbialac, home games at Whalebone Lane. Stan also played cricket for the firm, I have a photo taken before a match v Milton Keynes in 1958 at Whalebone Lane.

    If Stan is still around give him my good wishes.

  3. chris grimshaw Says:

    hi sorry to bother you , is this site still active ? my dad used to play for the a.s and I have some interesting pics of the team. I will await your reply thank you chris. grimshaw dad George. past away now, xx

Leave a Reply

